Meet the Ricklepickles: Dan Schweers

Standard

Twice a month we’ll be featuring “interviews” with your fellow church members. Want to be interviewed?  Just answer these 11 questions and email them to teri at rclpc.org, and we’ll publish your interview in an upcoming column!

~~~~~

1. What is your name, what town do you live in, and what do you do for a living?
Dan Schweers, Cary, IL, Superintendent of Schools in District 59 {Elk Grove Village, Des Plaines, Mt. Prospect and Arlington Heights}

2. If you had to describe yourself in one sentence, what would you say?
I am friendly, funny, successful and driven.

3. How did you find your way to RCLPC and why do you stay?
When we moved to Cary, we visited a number of churches, and felt most comfortable at RCLPC.

4. What gives you joy?
Spending time with my family {i.e., wife, children and grand-daughter}.

5. What is your favorite sound?
Music! I love music!

6. How do you see yourself as part of the ever-widening circle of grace?
I tend to “…lead by example.” I am not especially comfortable “preaching” to people directly about Christianity. I’d probably be a lousy missionary.

7. You have up to 15 words–what would you put on your tombstone?
A great family man, a great Notre Dame fan, and an educator who improved the life chances of lots of kids.

8. What is a dream you hope to see become reality in the next decade?
It bothers me greatly that kids around the world go to bed hungry at night.

9. Why are you cool?
Hmmmm… People appear to appreciate my sense of humor.

10. What is one of your favorite memories?
The times I spent with my Grandmother. I lost her when I was 47, so I really cannot complain. Still, I miss her so much!

11. Anything else you’ve always wanted to be asked?
Q: Why do you feel that what you do is so important?
A: I cannot think of a higher calling than improving kids’ life chances by equipping them with the skills and knowledge necessary to acquire employment that will enable them to support their family when they enter adulthood. I, and all those who work with me, are making the world a better place, one child at a time.

Leave a Reply

