with the word online bible study: God’s power and difficult times

Standard

Habakkuk 1.1-6, 2.1-2

O Lord, how long shall I cry for help, and you will not listen? Or cry to you “Violence!” and you will not save? Why do you make me see wrong-doing and look at trouble? Destruction and violence are before me; strife and contention arise. So the law becomes slack and justice never prevails. The wicked surround the righteous— therefore judgment comes forth perverted.

Look at the nations, and see! Be astonished! Be astounded! For a work is being done in your days that you would not believe if you were told. For I am rousing the Chaldeans, that fierce and impetuous nation, who march through the breadth of the earth to seize dwellings not their own.

I will stand at my watchpost, and station myself on the rampart; I will keep watch to see what he will say to me, and what he will answer concerning my complaint. Then the Lord answered me and said: Write the vision; make it plain on tablets, so that a runner may read it.

~~~

What pops out at you in this vision/prophecy/poetry/prayer? Is there anything that makes you go “hmm….” or “huh?” or “hey!!!!” Are you reminded of any other stories–whether in the Bible, in literature/movies/music/TV, or in your own life? As you read, do you hear any music in your head?

Have you ever felt this way, or can you identify with these words? How did you handle that situation?

One of the core tenets of the Reformed theological tradition is the Sovereignty of God–that God has authority and power over all things. How do you see that theology at work in this text?  How do you see that theology at work in the world, or in the life of our community?  What does it mean that God has authority and power over all things?

What do you hear as the good news in these stories? What do you hear as a challenge? What might these texts have to say to our community today?

One response »

  1. I used to feel that way, the I realized that I was wrong. Wrong to assume that I understood morality and virtue, or that I even could understand them; certainly not with the same Mind that God created them with.

    Even the historical contexts aside, the inspired message rings true in all times.

Leave a Reply

